Experimenting With Pencil

Posted: June 9, 2014 in Progress
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

When I was in High School and for a long time after, my artistic tools included paper and pencil. That was my thing. So a few years ago when I started pen and ink, it nearly gave me an ulcer to create in such a permanent way.

It only took a few months for me to fall in love with that exact aspect of pen and ink! Let perfectionism go and just draw. If you mess up, rework your design. Deal with it.

Then there is the hard contrast of black and white. It’s so clean. So crisp. Organized. Unwavering. All things that define what I want now.

I fought mixing my new art with my old for… some reason. Like the pencil somehow dirtied my crisp, clean drawings.

At last, I gave in. And that old satisfying feeling of shading… Well it’s good to be home. BUT I still feel like the pencil dirties the pen and ink. I’m just not sure I can handle it yet.

20140608-225059-82259743.jpg

Comments
  1. I like your doodle and I like your writing. With all 3, pen and ink, pencil and writing, it’s so you done with your usual perfectionism. Love you Mom

  2. Mignon says:

    Your doodles are always really nice, I like the clean style of just the black on white too, but I also really like how shading can bring simple shape alive. 🙂

Leave a Reply

