Doodler’s Block

Posted: February 22, 2015 in Doodle Art
Tags: , , , , ,

I’ve been in quite a creative rut lately for various reasons. I hate not being creative. It’s like not drinking water. Eventually I move slower, get more tired, and just want to sleep… I need creativity. Need it.

Sometimes it’s just not there. You can’t really force it. I mean, you can do some exercises to try to get the juices flowing again but there’s no guarantee. That’s why I wanted to post today. Lots of creative people have creative blocks. You’re not alone if you’ve ever sat down to draw and nothing has come – every time for a month. Or three months.

Yesterday I sat down and made myself draw again. It was icky. So I put it down. Then tried again. It was still icky. Today I picked it back up and kept pushing through it. The end result is… eh. But it’s something.

image

Comments
  1. Mignon says:

    I know how you feel, I get cranky when I can’t create, it doesn’t matter what it is, even baking, I just have ‘make’ something 🙂

    • Heidi Denney says:

      Exactly. I’ve been drawn to baking lately too which I think could be some sort of replacement for doodling. Trouble is… Winter weight. Ugh. Time to lose it. No more baking. Time to get back on the doodle train. 🙂

  2. Marg svendsen says:

    I can totally relate. I do love this doodle though.

  3. iwapaho says:

    I would like to have a block like this.

  4. I’m new to your blog, but it can definitely relate! I think winter has something todo with it. I love your doodle though!

  5. ariel says:

    I like it…as a start back to sanity you are on your way. Keep smiling.

  6. Maria Geary says:

    One persons “eh” is another’s INSPIRATION! I love this.

  7. stacey says:

    i wish you could enjoy these doodles as much as i do. been following you for awhile and your doodles are so fun. i use your drawings for examples for mine but i still have to think about what’s next. yours just seem to flow. hope the mojo comes back soon and you enjoy doodling again. love the videos.

    • Heidi Denney says:

      Thank you, Stacey. It’s actually not often that they just flow. The sped up videos make them look that way. But I also look to others for inspiration and ideas. I’m glad you find inspiration in mine. Doodle on!

  8. I could totallt have written those words. Last saturday night although i was exhausted, after a full week of holidays (weird, isn’t it 😉 well 2 kids full time) i had to finish my drawing that was lying there for two weeks almost. At 1am i was more exhausted but happier too ! It was another story at 6:50 am when my youngest woke up 😂😂

  9. Brooke provost says:

    I’ve been meaning to send you a message for the past month…. Ever since I found your work through Pinterest or something of the like…
    I have been wanting to shamelessly beg to have you post something new, anything really… You’ve totally renewed my interest in doodling (as I was traveling down a zentangle zone and needed something bold, new and plain old refreshing to my eyeballs. I’ve recreated (attempted to recreate) most all of your posted works and definitely the prompts… Which I love!
    So, to you, thank you. For posting something new and giving me some renewed creative interest and inspiration.
    Sincerest thanks,
    Brooke

    • Heidi Denney says:

      Brooke… Thank you so much! Your words mean a lot to me. Thank you for taking time to write them. I’m sorry I haven’t posted much lately. I know the creative bug will hit again and I’ll have regular material again soon. Tutorials and prompts are high on my to do list. If you have any scanned drawings, I’d be so happy to take a look at them.

  10. Allison says:

    I think it’s pretty!

Leave a Reply

